chocolat

Not too far from JR 円町駅Enmachi Station along 西大路通Nishioji Street is chocolat, a tiny sweets shop…I’m not kidding when I say tiny because it looks like it would barely hold four customers at a time. In the typical Kyoto townscape of neutral colors, the shop stands out with a clean white exterior and with glass doors and a big window through which one can see a cute but subtly decorated area…the table for two that one sees may be used for enjoying the delectable sweets available at the shop with a drink, as long as one doesn’t mind that he is on display for anyone who passes by.

I first heard about this shop from Iori-san and when he suggested going there together in the evening of late April 2015 and since it had been on my list of cafes and shops to visit, I jumped at the chance. It took me a while to foot it there from 喫茶と焼き菓子 ダバダバdabadaba since we decided to meet there at last-minute, by the time I arrived, Iori-san seemed to have been there a while. Iori-san “warned” the reserved owner with whom he seems to be quite familiar that I would be taking pictures 😜 to which he obliged without hesitation.

the exterior

DSC_6406

the front with a tiny kitchen space behind the counter

DSC_6409

the full case and counter of sweets that were available

DSC_6408

the view of the rest of the interior and dining space

DSC_6888

Since I had dessert at 喫茶と焼き菓子 ダバダバdabadaba, I came with the intention of having the excellent chocolat chaud, Iori-san’s recommendation…out of the selection of chocolat chaud available, I got it in bitter, ¥450, while Iori-san got it in milk, ¥450. The owner gave us シュークリームchou à la crème on the house and since I’m not a fan of cream puffs and I was still full despite my long walk over, being the sweets fiend that he is, Iori-san demolished both in no time after I tore a piece to taste.

DSC_6411

While indulging in the richness of our sweets and discussing the differences in relationships in Japan and the U.S. until nightfall, I was aware of us passers-by looking at us, some even smiling and pointing…anyone sitting in the window space would feel like a mannequin on display but without a doubt we were more a spectacle because Iori-san was dressed in a black military-style coat with a black gothic top hat, quite a unique sight to behold in Kyoto where most people’s style of dress is subdued.

Two months later, Mason and I were in the area when we passed by and I urged Mason to check it out, even suggesting we get chocolat chaud to go.

the counter covered with sweets for the day

DSC_6889

my bitter chocolat chaud to go

Rich and the bitter not being too sweet, it’s a decadent drink that serves as dessert as well; needless to say, it was a great company for our walk to lunch たわらやTawaraya.

Looking forward to trying the lovely sweets sometimes, especially the gâteau au chocolat.☺

This entry was published on March 27, 2017 at 11:28. It’s filed under Bakery, Shop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “chocolat

  1. AKAIK yov’ue got the answer in one!

Leave a Reply

