dough

I heard about dough, a bakery that boasts “bread, sandwiches, American sweets and more” according to their shop card, from Fumie-san who used to buy bread from dough when the bakery went by the name of BREAD ROOM on 二条通Nijo Street, east of 麩屋町通Fuyacho Street…懐かしいnatsukashii, I remember buying bread from BREAD ROOM once about eight, nine years ago but never had a chance to go back, so I was interested in stopping by sometime. Fumie-san started going to dough after it opened in mid-January this year on Fuyacho Street, south of 丸田町通Marutamachi Street, and when I had dinner with her one of those times, she presented their レモンポピーシードケーキlemon poppy-seed cake to me (pictured below with the apple pound cake for Hasegawa-san)

DSC_4858

Moist and firm, it had a wonderful sweet lemon flavor with the poppy seeds creating an irresistible texture…now I was even more determined to go.

After lunch at & noma CAFE in 東山Higashiyama, I thought I’d hit cafe de Corazón to end the day and since dough was en route, I dropped in.

I just loved the energizing colors and how the exterior of the bakery reminded me of treasure box.☺ Fumie-san mentioned that owner seemed very content with the change of environment, seen in his work and manner.

DSC_4993

the racks of bread and refrigerated items available

DSC_4991

the owner ringing me up while I took pictures (I asked for permission first)

DSC_4992

I found many items that I would like to try but ended up just getting かぼちゃシナモンロールkabocha shinamon rohru (pumpkin cinnamon roll), ¥210, lemon poppy-seed cake, ¥230, and pizza funghi, ¥210, to have for dinner that night.

DSC_4994

I ended up giving the lemon poppy-seed cake to Master when I went to cafe de Corazón; since I’d already had it before, I knew it was probably delicious. The cinnamon roll was pretty good although not as sweet as the American kind (the way I like it) and did taste of pumpkin. The pizza was the highlight of my buys because the crust was hard with a crispy yet chewy texture; the mushroom topping on top was flavored nicely…next time I hope to try more pizza.

Update: Over half a year later, I was having dinner at culotte when Fumie-san dropped in for a bite to eat as well. She gave Natsuki-san and me Lavash crackers from dough where she had dropped in after work.

DSC_7828

Topped with many spices, one in a row at a time, I could enjoy a different taste for each piece…although I had it alone, this would be great with soup or stew, too.

This entry was published on February 25, 2015 at 23:08. It’s filed under Bakery, Shop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

